Advent

It feels rather peculiar to start writing on this particular day. I imagined that there would be a real beginning or a real end to something that would finally incline me to sit down and begin this blog… it would definitely suit my propensity to follow a certain order for things; however, waiting has amounted to wasting – that of time, of passing moments, of brilliant ideas. I do not intend to waste anymore.

Photographer: Christina KogutI am not sure where this blog will carry my thoughts to, except that I only have a month and a half left before it unfolds into a story about a boy who has stolen my heart. I have not met him yet, his debut into this world is scheduled for October 21st. Until then, his presence is felt by flutters, kicks and jolts inside of me, by an uncompromising insomnia, and by a sudden sweep of maternal instincts that brew a love unimaginable for someone who is as much a stranger as he is the keeper of my heart.

Photographer: Christina KogutI expect my Self to be redefined over the next few months; as an extremist, I rarely allow any certain change to pass by me without my full attention and dedication. I feel uneasy about this, as I had recently thought to have attained a certain peace with myself, an acceptance and contentment with who I was and who I aspired to become… but perhaps no such state is ever permanent. The Self is as fluid as the course our lives take, and happiness depends on the compatibility between the two…

…just a thought…

In the event that I develop the ‘Mother Goose” syndrome, or even blindly start embracing Friedan’s “Feminine Mystique,” and this blog begins to reveal blatant evidence of an abandonment of all my dreams and endeavors, I beg you – those who come to know me – to drop me a comment and remind me of that one Self I used to enjoy and aspire to.

Photographer: Christina Kogut

About Natalia

Sensitive in varying degrees, soft-spoken but rarely hushed, a guilty romantic, a stubborn extremist and a happy dreamer.
This entry was posted in Motherhood, Pursuit of the Self and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Advent

  1. ladyfelicity says:

    I stopped by via a comment you left on a WordPress post about SAHM … I don’t know if that rings any bells?!? Anyway …

    Wow! I love the way you write! Congratulations for next month! 🙂

  2. Natalia says:

    Hi Elisabeth!
    Thank you… a little nervous, a little anxious; but, mostly excited! 🙂
    Still new to the blog world… but I figured it might be a good way to keep my sanity over the next little while!

  3. I love the picture of your hands in a heart over your tummy!

  4. netsnooper says:

    Please not another “mummy blog” ! Stay original !

    Good luck !

  5. netsnooper says:

    Ok I will be carefull with your blog.

    It`s nice that you accept observations

    😉

  6. I love the belly photos. If anything inspires a woman to get pregnant for the first time, it’s those photos. Beautiful!

  7. eva626 says:

    your so pretty..nice blog!

Leave a Reply

